Type : Concert

Pre-sale € 28

Box-office € 30

Final Timetable

  • 20:00 – Deuren open
  • 21:00 – Set 1
  • 22:00 – Pauze
  • 22:15 – Set 2
  • 01:00 – Curfew

Kayak was founded in 1972 by keyboardist/composer Ton Scherpenzeel and drummer/composer Pim Koopman, along with lead singer Max Werner, guitarist Johan Slager and bass player Cees van Leeuwen. In the beginning critics often compared the band to contemporaries like Yes and Focus, but the band quickly developed their own style of symphonic rock that, although almost each album contained one or more ‘epics’, was concentrating on songs rather than elaborate solos and long instrumental passages. Results are their well known songs ‘Starlight Dancer’ (1977) en ‘Ruthless Queen’ (1978).

Throughout the years Kayak has seen many changes in the line-up. Ton Scherpenzeel is the only remaining original member and leader of the band. Now, with singer Bart Schwertmann and guitarist Marcel Singor, bass player Kristoffer Gildenlöw and drummer Collin Leijenaar a reborn Kayak once again proves that the band’s name- though chosen randomly back in 1972- is as appropriate as ever. Just when everyone expects the boat to go under, it miraculously resurfaces and sails on.

The new album is released on January 12th 2018, and gets raving reviews from Holland and, especially, abroad. Not only the album’s musical quality is mentioned, but the band also get credits because of their incredible resilience. An English critic writes: ‘Kayak- more break ups than the Antarctic ice shelf and more comebacks than a homesick boomerang’.

The CD enters the Dutch album charts at number 6, the highest position of a Kayak record since 1980! The vinyl version of Seventeen even lands at the number ONE spot of the Vinyl-top-33. Kayak is back- with a vengeance.

Cookies & privacy

Wijzig je instellingen of bekijk ons privacy statement

Privacy policy | Sluit
Cookies instellen